Quick Poll: Response to “The End”

24 05 2010

Last year, after the season five finale, I got to write an article about LOST for Books & Culture. Last year’s article was called, “Not Too Late to Find LOST.”

I just finished writing an article about the finale for Books & Culture and I wanted to call it, “Dude, You Missed Out.” But I didn’t.

Seriously though, after just finishing nearly 1700 words for Books and Culture (which has the most sophisticated audience of all the Christianity Today International publications, and thus, the most stress involved for me during the writing and revising process), I have to warn you that my recap is going to be a little delayed. I’m hoping to get it posted today, but I make no promises.

In the meantime, here’s a poll. Share your thoughts, and feel free to get as long-winded as you want in the comments section. I’m excited to hear what you guys thought of “The End.”

Actions

Information

6 responses

24 05 2010
smilingcynic

The ending of the finale “The End” was good but I doubt I’m the only one who thinks that two many loose ends have been left in the lost saga.

Everybody is dead but I think that their limbo state was much more about Karma than purgatory.

Dharma is almost synonomous with karma

24 05 2010
tylercharles

Thanks for your comments, smiling cynic.

I’m sure you’re not alone in your belief that LOST left many loose ends. That was inevitable, I think.

Some of us (including me) might argue, however, that the loose ends were not a flaw at all. Just the natural result of this method of storytelling, which I think we can all agree was richly entertaining and rewarding.

Maybe the loose ends will detract from the ending for some, but just answer this: if they really tried to answer all the questions, would the story have been better?

Personally, I don’t think so. But you’re free to draw your own conclusion (which is exactly what Darlton said they were expecting fans to do).

After watching the finale, there was at least one element that I wish they hadn’t “tied up” for us. I’m writing about that in my recap. So I’ll just leave it at that for now…

24 05 2010
Dan colwin

Yeah I wished some things were handled differently but I was more angry about the number of commercials during the finale. ABC you ruined the LOST finale for me.

24 05 2010
tylercharles

Dan,

Nice to hear from you.

Strangely, I didn’t even notice an inordinate amount of commercials. And the Target commercials were great, so that made it better.

(ABC got filthy rich last night, too. They charged a ton for those commercial spots.)

24 05 2010
Dan Colwin

Strangely, I don’t know why Doug’s picture shows up for me. Also, you really weren’t annoyed by the commercials? It was like, ‘six-seven minutes of show, four minutes commercial, six minutes of show, four minutes commercial’ for the whole night. I guess it’s just hard because we normally don’t watch regular t.v. It gave me more appreciation for watching online. And you’re right, about $900,000 per 30 second spot = lots of money for ABC.

2 06 2010
Peggy

I am glad that it is over. I feel relieved. I feel that it has been the most fun I have ever had from a TV show. But I feel that I have been on a roller coaster for all these years. There were so many twists and turns and sudden drop offs that I was feeling a little overwhelmed. I feel that it is all the TV I need for years to come ( we will be watching all the DVDs again when we can). I also felt that I would have liked it if they had answered more questions. But I think you are right. It may not have made it any better. Our computer has been down for a little while now. So have still have a lot of your blog entries to catch up on. I am looking forward to reading them. Also, thank you so much for making a fun thing funner. I think you are a kind of a genius!

Leave a Reply

