So Long, Sayid

3 03 2010

Am I the only one who felt strange after “Sundown”? I didn’t feel unsettled exactly. Maybe disappointed is a better word. Or even sad.

The reason: Sayid.

We’ve grown accustomed to seeing our characters experiencing some sort of redemption before they die: Charlie, Shannon, Mr. Eco, and even Michael.

Sayid may not be dead, but didn’t it feel like the door slammed on his opportunity for redemption? I had hoped for a different outcome for Sayid. I guess Dogen was right, it would have been better for all of them if Sayid were dead. (Maybe Jack should have given him that pill.)

In Sideways reality, just before Sayid shot Keamy (I think I could watch Keamy die in every episode and never get sick of it), they had this exchange:

Keamy: Okay, it’s done. The debt’s forgiven. So…just relax and forget about it.
Sayid: I can’t.

This was an ominous scene—especially when viewed along with the dark themes surrounding Sayid’s on-island actions.

We know the Locke Monster has been recruiting. We saw him try to recruit Richard Alpert. And then we saw him successfully enlist the efforts of Sawyer, and even though I didn’t like that, this was much worse. Sawyer’s decision can be rationalized: he might be trying to con Locke Monster, or the Locke Monster might have successfully conned Sawyer. But not Sayid.

Sayid calls the Locke Monster out immediately:

Sayid: What is it that you are trying to talk me into?
Locke: Sorry?
Sayid: You haven’t killed me; clearly there’s something you want.

I enjoyed that scene so much. In fact, I wrote, “I’m glad Sayid didn’t fall for Locke Monster’s manipulations.” But after that, Sayid’s actions were far worse than Sawyer’s. He wasn’t manipulated; he just knowingly made a deal with the devil (or with “evil incarnate,” as Dogen referred to him).

Instead of refusing to deal with Locke, Sayid does his bidding. Sayid goes back to the Temple to deliver Locke Monster’s message, creating a panic among the Temple People. Then he drowns Dogen in the healing spring (ironic, no?). And when Lennon rushed in to say, “Do you realize what you just did? He was the only one keeping it out. You just let it in!” And Sayid says, way too calmly, “I know.” Then he slits Lennon’s throat.

We’ve seen Sayid do a lot of killing, but never as flippantly as this. Never with such evil intentions. He killed when he thought he was protecting Hurley; he killed the men on Ben’s list, convinced that he was protecting his friends. But here he did it…why? Just because Smoke Monster asked him to? Just because the Smoke Monster suggested that he could see Nadia again?

And when Sayid stabbed Locke Monster, I wrote “I’m glad Sayid stabbed him. Good for Sayid. Good that there’s still some good in him.” But no. He got my hopes up only to disappoint me.

And as if to ram the point home, there was this:

Ben: Sayid, come on, I know a way out of here. There’s still time.
Sayid: Not for me…


And have you ever seen Ben look as creeped out as he did when he backed away from Sayid? I think Ben realized that Sayid is no longer the pliable mercenary he could cajole into doing his bidding.

Thinking back on the episode, I think Dogen’s words might ring true for everyone on that island: “We think it would be best if you were dead.”

It might be best for everyone if Sayid were dead. And I fear that the Sayid we knew is dead.

Sideways Sayid
Uncle Sayid was so much like the Sayid we first met on the island, wasn’t he? He was polite, clear-headed, sure of himself (and in love with a woman he couldn’t be with). He was also struggling to reconcile with his past as an Iraqi torturer.

But he was a doting uncle and a good brother (even if he is in love with his brother’s wife).

What was the point of this story? To show that Sayid has always been destined to embrace his special talents? Or maybe to show that it’s Sayid’s destiny to be a killer, even if he refuses to embrace it?

I don’t know. But I don’t think we’ve seen the last of Sideways Sayid. Finding Jin bound in the closet of the restaurant…well, I know the writers will have to leave a lot of things unanswered, but that’s not one of them. We’ll get an explanation for that. Which means we’ll see at least a little more of the Sayid we once knew, and not just the Sayid on the island who is currently serving as Locke Monster’s pawn.

The Temple…so what?
We’ve been thinking this Temple is so important, right? We’ve been thinking that Locke Monster was desperate to get access to it…and then, once Dogen was killed and he was able to go inside (as a furious freight train of deadly smoke), he was ready to leave just minutes later.

So he didn’t have any reason to actually go in the Temple? He just wanted to kill those who wouldn’t come with him? That’s it?

And now they’re on the march somewhere else?

I’m sure we’ll learn more about this, but this certainly isn’t how I expected things to play out at the Temple.

The Reunion that Wasn’t
Oh Sun and Jin, you were so close. Instead, the only reunion we saw was that of the Ajira 316 (those who never time flashed) with Miles—just about the only one of our Losties who Ilana and friends don’t seem to care about.

But that wasn’t the only reunion. For a brief moment we had almost all our characters in the same place and in the same time. Everyone was at the temple (or waiting at the outer wall) except Jack, Hurley, and Richard Alpert (wherever he is).

Oh yeah, and there was also the odd Kate/Claire reunion. But I still don’t know what to think about that storyline.

It was nice, for that brief moment, even as bodies are piling up everywhere, to know that almost everyone was in the same place. We didn’t have to stop and think, “Wait, are they in 1977 or the present?” And we didn’t have to say, “Wait, are these the Others who marched with Richard? Or the Temple People?” They were all together. And now, most of them are dead…

As for Richard, I’m guessing he’s going to meet up with Jack and Hurley. He’ll probably impart a piece of wisdom to Jack about what the Locke Monster is doing (maybe something about why the Locke Monster is recruiting…I hope), and then Jack will do whatever it is that Jacob is waiting for him to do…

Dogen’s Baseball
The Lost writers tricked me twice in this episode. There was that terrible moment when I thought Sayid was going to mistakenly stab Kate with the “samurai”‘s sword. And of course, there was Dogen’s baseball. Please tell me I’m not the only one who thought—while Dogen held Sayid at his mercy, watching his baseball bounce on the floor—that the ball might contain something significant, or that it might be a powerful instrument or a talisman…or something.

But no, just like Dogen told Jack two episodes ago, “It’s a baseball.”

Of course it’s just a baseball! I mean, yeah, I knew that all along…

What is Locke Monster Doing?
So Locke Monster’s reason for coming to the Temple was to recruit these people (and to kill those who chose not to come with him)? I don’t think he was just interested in recruiting people, or else he would have started recruiting the Others when he left them outside the statue (when he carried Richard Alpert into the jungle).

So what was his other objective? To make sure Dogen was dead? To attempt to remove all those faithful to Jacob…so he will be free to do…what?

Where is he headed now?

The Three Camps
Here’s the current breakdown:

1) Over at the lighthouse we have Jack, Hurley, and the ghost of Jacob Past. Jacob said he had to get them out of the Temple, but now what? What’s next for these two? Jack is just going to realize he needs to do something?

2) Hidden somewhere in the Temple (or heading out of it via a secret passageway), we have the fivesome of Ilana, Frank Lapidus, Benjamin Linus, Miles Straume, and Sun Kwon (and I listed their last names because, if you noticed, that’s the name Ilana uses to address them—and it’s also the way the candidates were listed in Jacob’s lighthouse, by their last names).

Where are they headed next? I don’t know, but I think Ilana has a plan. And Ben might have a secret or two up his sleeve.


3) And marching away from the Temple that had seemed so important to him, we have the Locke Monster and his cronies—and maybe a spy or two. I’m guessing Jin doesn’t want to be there, and we know Kate is only there for Claire. But maybe while she’s there, Kate can also talk some sense into Sawyer.

Dominant Theme:

Destruction
According to Dogen, Locke Monster’s objective is complete destruction:

Dogen: She’s a confused girl, under the influence of an angry man.
Sayid: What man?
Dogen: For years, he has been trapped. But now Jacob is gone; he’s free. This man will not stop until he has destroyed every living thing on this island. He is evil incarnate.

And we saw a lot of that destruction last night. The bodies littering the ground around the Temple are evidence of that.

This episode also felt like the destruction of Sayid. And he brought about his own share of devastation, as the floating bodies of Dogen and Lennon can attest.

I can’t help wondering whether the Temple—along with whatever powers were associated with it—was destroyed along with the people who remained loyal to it (or loyal to Jacob). I think the fact that Locke Monster is willing to march away from it suggests that it has been rendered useless, but I could be wrong.

Do I think this is the last time we’ll see the Temple? No, I don’t. But I wouldn’t be shocked if it is.

Snippets:

  • Wow, a lot of carnage in this episode
  • Miles is a pervert, but it’s funny:

    Miles: That Australian chick is back.
    Kate: Claire?
    Miles: She just strolled in here a couple hours ago, acting weird. Still hot, though.

  • Did you notice that Ben knew the way to the healing spring right away? Does he remember that from his youth? Or why does he know his way around the temple so well? I guess, as an Other, he might have been able to come there whenever he wanted?
  • Interesting to hear Dogen talking about a scale (after just seeing one in Jacob’s cave two weeks ago):

    Dogen: For every man there is a scale. On one side, there is good. On the other side is evil. This machine tells us how the scale is balanced. And yours…tipped the wrong way.

  • How creepy was the scene when Crazy Claire was sitting in the pit singing the “Put Sunshine in your Pocket” song? (For those who don’t remember, that’s the same song her mother sang to her when she was a kid, and it’s also a song we heard Kate singing to Aaron.)
  • I feel like this is significant:

    Miles: What are you doing?
    Sayid: I’m leaving; I’ve been banished.
    Miles: For what?
    Sayid: Apparently I’m evil. And I’m better off dead…which is ironic since they were the ones who brought me back.
    Miles: They tried to save you, but…you were dead, man. For two hours. Trust me, when you sat up, they were just as surprised as the rest of us. So whatever brought you back, it wasn’t them…

  • I miss John Locke.

  • Questions:
    1) Lennon was trying to reassure the Temple People, screaming, “He can’t come in!” And later he told Sayid that Dogen was the only thing keeping “it” outside the Temple. But how was Dogen keeping “it” out?

    2) Locke Monster told Sayid to tell the Temple People that because Jacob is dead, none of them have to stay there any longer. So had they been forced to stay there? Or does Locke Monster just interpret their service to Jacob as a type of imprisonment?

    3) Did you notice that Lennon referred to Locke Monster as an “it,” not a “he.” So what exactly is “it”? But didn’t Dogen tell Sayid that he’s “an angry man”? So is Locke Monster a “he” or an “it”? Which is it?

    4) Miles tells Sayid he was dead for 2 hours? Does that sound incongruous to anyone else? It certainly didn’t seem that long… but even so, is that significant?

    5) Dogen told Sayid, “As soon as you see him, plunge this deep into his chest. If you allow him to speak, it is already too late.” What does his speaking have to do with anything? And did it have to be that sword? Or would any weapon work? Was there any chance that Sayid could kill him? Or was Dogen really hoping, as Locke Monster suggested, that this would lead to Sayid’s death?


    Actions

    Information

    14 responses

    4 03 2010
    mamaK

    Thoughts on the creepy-Claire song scene: The first line and I think the title of the song is “Catch a Falling Star” (“and put it in your pocket, save it for a rainy day”….”never let it fade away”is a later line) and it was creepy, but then Claire is creepy most of the time now! (You made an interesting connection to Kate singing it to Aaron, I’d forgotten that.) The song was used again in a weird, different version/voice back-ground song just after the scene with Claire singing and the smoke monster sweeping through the temple. It played in the aftermath of destruction while the people (kind of zombie-like, I think Hurley would agree!) are gathering toward Locke in the courtyard.

    So I think the “falling star” line might be important to the overall theme of good/evil and the current action of choosing sides. In Revelation 12, the word “stars” references the angels that fell, having chosen to follow Lucifer in rebellion in verse 7. “His tail swept a third of the stars out of the sky and flung them to the earth.” The stars are falling and lining up with “evil incarnate” in Locke.

    Nancy & I talked today about how much we have loved Sayid because the good in him was always so evident despite his killing, torturing ways! It seems they were making the point he could not escape his destiny, and I don’t like that any more than I like Sayid siding with Locke. So we agree with how you started this wrap-up, a little sad about Sayid. And still hoping redemption will be a part of the storyline ahead!

    We always say how terrific the writing has been on LOST, but this season I am even more impressed with the actors than in past seasons, and they have always been great. Sayid’s struggle was so evident in his expressions–a really great performance, as were many of the others.

    Why is Jacob focusing concern on Hurley & Jack and ignoring other candidates? Where was Sawyer in this episode? I didn’t remember seeing him with Locke & Co.

    Thanks for the review so we have even more to ponder until next Tues.!

    4 03 2010
    tylercharles

    You’re right; We didn’t see Sawyer in this episode. Not exactly. But we learned that he was with Locke. Because before Claire went into the Temple, she said this, “Why does it have to be me? I mean, you could send Sawyer or Jin or… do it yourself…”

    And Locke Monster responds: “If I could do it myself, I wouldn’t be asking you, Claire.”

    We know Locke Monster couldn’t go into the Temple until Dogen was killed. And I think he didn’t want to send Jin or Sawyer because 1) he knew Claire would carry out his wishes, but he probably wasn’t sure about the other two, and 2) Sawyer is a candidate and Jin might be, so I don’t think he wanted to send candidates back into the Temple.

    I really like all your “falling star” insights. Good stuff.

    As for Jacob ignoring the other candidates, remember that he can only talk to Hurley. And so when he appeared at the Temple, he could only save Hurley and Jack (Sawyer, Kate, and Jin were all gone…and if Sun is the Kwon candidate, well, she hadn’t arrived yet). Since he can only speak to Hurley, he could only realistically get Hurley and Jack out of the Temple. (Although since Jack and Hurley crossed paths with Kate, I guess she could have come along at that point…)

    Plus, I think Jacob has specific plans for Jack. So maybe he’s extra special?

    4 03 2010
    Peggy

    You always give me a lot to think about. It seemed that Dogan decided not to kill Sayid when the baceball seemed to vibrate. Right away I wondered what it’s significance was. Then I remembered the story about his son. He had just come back from a base ball game. Am I right? So I think that it has something to do with the “deal” but I don’t know what.

    4 03 2010
    tylercharles

    Peggy,
    Yeah, but we didn’t learn the story about him picking his son up after baseball practice until after we saw that scene with the baseball bouncing on the floor.

    I’m thinking he held onto that baseball as a reminder of why he was here. And since Jacob gave his son a chance to live (somewhere), even though he’s never going to see him, he’s going to remain faithful to Jacob. And, this is just a guess, I’m thinking he didn’t kill Sayid because they’re forbidden to kill any of Jacob’s candidates. Maybe that’s why he needed Jack to give him that pill (as a sort of loophole that would have killed Sayid without violating Jacob’s orders not to kill candidates)?

    I don’t know.

    4 03 2010
    Peggy

    One more comment.

    I think that Claire has plans to kill Kate, and that will be what brings Sayer and Kate back to reality and make them see the Locke Monster for what he really is.

    4 03 2010
    tylercharles

    Peggy,

    I think Kate is certainly in trouble. Since she’s the only one who didn’t join that group willingly; she just happened to follow Sayid and Claire outside. Maybe Claire will try to kill Kate; that seems like a good guess at this point.

    4 03 2010
    Todd Hertz

    Comment on your temple questions: I don’t think this is the last we will see/learn about the temple but I also don’t think that it is that important. Especially now. I didn’t see MiB’s mission as one to take the temple because it was special place…but to eliminate it as a stronghold of the enemy. Without Jacob, it was just a place. But because of Dogen’s existence (perhaps just some magics of some sort), it remained a stronghold for Jacob’s followers. They were protected. That’s why MiB attacked it. As the MiB is making his move, this was the next obstacle to get over: Now Jacob’s peeps have no place to rally. They are vulnerable. And this was also a move of recruitment. MiB just took away a stronghold and got an army. Good military move.

    5 03 2010
    tylercharles

    I guess I see your logic. But so far, without Jacob, Locke Monster has seemed pretty invincible. So I guess I didn’t think about him trying to take out an “enemy stronghold.” I had assumed the Temple was the “last safe place” because it contained powerful magic, or some other secret, that the Locke Monster wanted to obtain. But no. None of that. I thought Locke Monster might have needed access to the Temple in order to go “home,” wherever that is. So I guess I was just surprised to realize he basically came to kill his opposition and “recruit” more followers. Especially since he’s had absolutely no opposition; why does he even need followers?

    10 03 2010
    Todd Hertz

    Because the opposition is coming… 🙂

    10 03 2010
    tylercharles

    Todd,

    If you think Widmore is Locke Monster’s opposition, I respectfully disagree. I think Widmore has another objective, which I’m writing about right now. Posting it soon…

    5 03 2010
    mamaK

    Because “someone” is coming to the island? Maybe Jacob is not the only one aware of that!

    7 03 2010
    tylercharles

    Interesting idea. I like it…

    6 03 2010
    Peggy

    Maybe you already said this. But could the someone coming to the island be Widmore again. Do you have any ideas about what his role is in all this?

    7 03 2010
    tylercharles

    It could be Widmore…or Eloise Hawking…or both. But I’ve been suspicious for awhile now that Widmore and Eloise have been working together (or toward the same objective) to pull Desmond’s strings and guide him where they want/need him to go.

    I think Desmond will be returning to the island before the season’s over.

    Leave a comment